Bio: Liz Carmines

I am a junior majoring in policial science and sociology with a minor in global sustainability. At Monmouth I am the president of the Sociology Club and a member of the debate team and Model United Nations. I work as a PLA in the fall semester and nanny year-round.

My main focus in sociology is gender, but I have an interest in learning about all forms of inequalities. More recently I have been thinking a lot about religion and disability from a sociological standpoint and am considering using the intersections among the two for my thesis. Another thesis idea I am exploring is something to do with the culture of Sri Lanka, which I have been interested in for several years, and this past summer I had the opportunity to spend a month there volunteering. That experience has stuck with me and I would love to do some research concerning the lives of Sri Lankans and the issues they face.

Leave a Reply

